E-mail technical support warning

March 18, 2004 4:44 PM

I've started receiving emails that look something like this:

Dear user of Pastiche.org e-mail server gateway,
Your e-mail account has been temporary disabled because of unauthorized access.
Pay attention on attached file.
Have a good day,
The Pastiche.org team       http://www.pastiche.org

The attachment, obviously enough, is yet another email-borne worm. However, seeing as I am the Pastiche.org team (and have been since 1997), these mails always give me a bit of a double-take.

Once, when I was more active on Usenet, somebody complained to my postmaster about me: I had apparently committed some egregious crime against humanity by flaming him, and my account deserved to be pulled immediately. The postmaster@pastiche.org address is aliased to my regular inbox. I replied (from the postmaster address):

Thankyou for registering your complaint about this user. He is an habitual troublemaker, and in accordance with our zero-tolerance policy for Internet troublemakers we have had him shot. Have a nice day.

3 Comments

it'd be better if you were getting them for charlesmiller.net
=D

I redirected the MX record for charlesmiller.net to 127.0.0.1, because the only email I was receiving on that address was spam.

Heh, I read this at my home computer, and my 9-year-old son wanted to know what I was laughing at. I was at an utter loss for where to begin explaining.

Comments are no longer being accepted for this blog entry. If you really want to make your voice heard, you can always email me.

Previously: Buying a Sofa

Next: In Defense of Wiki Markup